Ralph Adams Brown & Marian R. Brown Scholarship

Established by bequest of Marian R. Brown in memory of SUNY Cortland’s first Distinguished Teaching Professor, Professor of American History Ralph A. Brown (1908-1986). An award-winning historian of national repute and a mentor to thousands of students, Brown dramatically influenced contemporary scholarship in the fields of history and social studies during his 28 years on the Cortland faculty. Award will be split evenly between the fall and spring semesters. Funding is based on availability.

Selection Criteria

  • awarded to a matriculated entering freshman or transfer level student in good academic standing at SUNY Cortland
  • is a non-traditional student
  • has a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5
  • enrolled full-time (at least 12 credit hours each fall and spring semester)
  • student must have at least one full academic year remaining at the start of the fall semester of award year

Renewal Information

  • may be renewable, renewals are dependent on available funding as provided by the Cortland College Foundation
  • Continued funding is based on student maintaining a 2.5 cumulative grade point average
  • matriculated at SUNY Cortland
  • enrolled full-time (at least 12 credit hours each fall and spring semester)
  • maintain satisfactory academic progress per SUNY Cortland’s published Federal Good Academic Standing guidelines
  • this scholarship is renewable for a maximum of four academic years (eight academic semesters, excluding summer semesters). Actual number of terms is based on Class Level (freshman, sophomore, etc) at time of initial award

Scholarship funding is determined by the Cortland College Foundation. Scholarship amounts and availability are subject to change.

Funding Amount Varies